New 2015 NTCA Board of Directors Chosen

The Northwest Territories Conservative Association held its 2015 Annual General Meeting on Saturday, May 23. The two-hour session, which included members linking in via conference call from communities around the territory, saw a new Board of Directors tapped to take the reins of the EDA heading into the fall election. The leadership team now includes:

From Hay River: Kevin Wallington, Keith Dohey, Bruce Green, Tom Lakusta, Donna Lee Jungkind, and Alec Goodzeck.

From Behchoko: Gerald Baron.

From Fort Smith: Peter Martselos, and Don Webb.

From Inuvik: Nellie Cournoyea, Denny Rodgers, Floyd Roland, and Vince Sharpe.

From Lutsel K’e: Steven Nitah.

From Norman Wells: Jim Brown.

From Pontoon Lake (outside Yellowknife): John Tees.

From Tuktoyaktuk: Merven Gruben.

From Yellowknife: Deb Simpson, Lou Covello, Brendan Bell, Martin Knutson, Alain Chaisson, Ray Decorby, David Tucker, Laura Worsley-Brown, David Connelly, and Chris Robb.

Before the conclusion of the AGM, any members considering a run at becoming the Conservative Party candidate in the upcoming Oct. 19 general election were given the opportunity to address the membership. Former Premier, Past EDA President and current Mayor of Inuvik Floyd Roland was the only individual to discuss his plans.

He talked about the need to address the NWT’s transportation and energy challenges as well as the importance of working together to get local priorities both heard and addressed. He said the NWT needed to ensure its only MP is a member inside the ruling party as it’s the best way to get our needs on the federal agenda.

The NTCA executive committee will be selected through a vote of Directors at the first full Board Meeting following the AGM on the evening of June 9.